Table Of Content

The museum reopened to the public in November 1979 and in 1981, the restored interior was designated as a landmarked site by the City of New York. Many believe it is Gertrude Tredwell, in particular, who is watching over her family home. Born in an upstairs bedroom in 1840, the youngest of the Tredwells’ eight children, Gertrude never married and lived her entire life here until she died, at the age of 93, in 1933. Merchant Marine Academy Alumni Association, bought the property from the Lundy family for $500,000.
Space Age Lodge and Restaurant
In this dwelling, Emerson composed his most important written works, including the final draft of his groundbreaking essay Nature in 1836 and Self Reliance in 1841. Emerson's new residence helped make Concord the center of American Transcendentalism, home of the Concord authors, and the place that sparked a new literary renaissance. The Geddes-Piper House Museum is currently the home of the Historical Society of Kent County in Chestertown, Maryland. The house was once owned by the Customs Inspector in Chestertown during the late 1700s. In the mid-1900s, the house was being used as an apartment for African-Americans and had fallen into disrepair. In 1958, the property was purchased by the Historical Society and restorations began, eventually sparking the creation of the Chestertown Historic District.
Troubling Proposal for Construction Next Door to Merchant’s House Museum Will Return Next Tuesday - Village Preservation
Troubling Proposal for Construction Next Door to Merchant’s House Museum Will Return Next Tuesday.
Posted: Wed, 06 Dec 2023 08:00:00 GMT [source]
Spring House Tour Benefit 2024
Although the Truman Presidential Library and Harry and Bess Truman's home are popular sites, the Bingham-Waggoner Estate offers its own special look into an earlier era. This well preserved estate provides insights into the lifestyles of the 19th century wealthy residents.The Estate is available for tours and for private events and rentals in addition to a variety of regularly scheduled public events. Amid the titanic figures of America's Gilded Age, James J. Hill was nicknamed "The Empire Builder" for his vast transportation network. While he was finishing the Great Northern Railway, he hired Boston architects Peabody & Stearns to build a new house for his family on fashionable Summit Avenue in St. Paul. When it was completed, the 36,000 square foot house was the largest in Minnesota, with state of the art mechanical systems including indoor plumbing, central heating, and electric and gas lighting.Today the home is open year-round for tours, art exhibits, and special events.

Cairnwood Estate
Currently, the Merchant's House Museum is owned by the New York City Department of Parks & Recreation, operated by the Old Merchants House, Inc., and is a member of the Historic House Trust. The Old Merchant's House operates as a house museum and is open to the public. Merchant Marine Academy campus, was designed by Henry Otis Chapman in a Beaux Arts version of French Renaissance style with landscaping by Charles Leavitt.
Landmark designations
This fine example of Italianate styling, so popular in the post-Civil War period, has remained structurally unchanged since 1880. This carefully preserved home gives the visitor a glimpse into the lifestyles of our ancestors, and is appropriately listed in both the National Register of Historic Places and the Michigan State Register of Historic Sites. The Gordon-Roberts House was built by Josiah Hance Gordon, a prominent attorney, and one time president of the C&O Canal in Cumberland. Milnor Roberts II family who lived in the home for over sixty years and was an accomplished violinist. Whitehall, thought to have been built circa 1855 by John Marshall, began as a modest two-story brick house in the Italianate style popular during the mid-19th century. Completed in 1816, Farmington was the center of a 550 acre hemp plantation owned by John and Lucy Fry Speed, and sustained by nearly 60 enslaved African Americans.
The building was almost demolished in 1955 but was saved by a group later to be known as the Historic Savannah Foundation. This Greek Revival mansion located in Savannah's historic district was built in 1842, and graciously opens their doors for tours. The White-Meyer House, a red brick mansion adjacent to Meridian House, was built in 1911 by Ambassador Henry White and later purchased by Eugene Meyer, the owner of the Washington Post. The large rooms of this splendid building have been renovated and restored to their original glory. The main floor includes a spacious entry hall, sitting room, drawing room, library, and dining room, all of which are interconnected.
A Christmas Carol at the Merchant’s House Returns for 11th Holiday Season - TheaterMania.com
A Christmas Carol at the Merchant’s House Returns for 11th Holiday Season.
Posted: Tue, 08 Aug 2023 07:00:00 GMT [source]
James McNeill Whistler was born in the house and his mother, Anna Whistler, is the subject of one of America's most famous paintings, "Whistler's Mother" (Arrangement in Black and Grey). The historic Warkentin House is the former home of Bernhard and Wilhelmina Warkentin, built in 1887. It is a splendid example of the Victorian period in American architecture and furnishings.
Key Dates in Preservation Activity
Beauport, the Sleeper-McCann House, was the summer home of one of America's first professional interior designers, Henry Davis Sleeper. Perched on a rock ledge overlooking Gloucester Harbor, Beauport became Sleeper's retreat, backdrop for entertaining, professional showcase, and an inspiration to all who visited. After Sleeper's death, Beauport was purchased by Mr. and Mrs. Charles McCann, who left most of Sleeper's arrangements and collections intact.
Designation Status and/or Current Status
A nonprofit organization preserves and operates this 1,120-acre National Historic Landmark located in Nashville, Tennessee. Built in 1683 and occupied by Caleb Pusey, this is the only building still standing which can claim documented association with the Proprietor, William Penn, and which he is known to have visited on several occasions. This unique English Vernacular house stands beside Race Street, the small road once paralleling the millrace that brought water from Chester Creek to power the mills. Located in a reconstructed 1699 Dutch farmhouse that was central to the Battle of Brooklyn, the Old Stone House is a museum and community resource that explores the American Revolution, colonial life and Brooklyn. Long-time Red River resident, Bob Prunty, who served as Postmaster for many years, gives tours and answering questions about the town's colorful heritage.
Joel Lane built his home in 1769 in what was a very rural part of North Carolina. He is called "The Father of Raleigh" because he facilitated the location of North Carolina's capital city on his land in 1792. His faithfully-restored plantation manor was once deemed "The Best House for 100 Miles." A visit to this important historic site will transport you back in time. Blandwood is one of the America's great historic homes, representing the ideals of progressive North Carolina Governor John Motley Morehead and serving as a protype for one of America's most popular architectural styles in the nineteenth century. The Morris-Jumel Mansion was built in 1765 as a summer villa, by Colonel Roger Morris and his wife, Mary Philipse.
The feed mill built in 1880 as a steam grist mill and cotton gin featured unique mechanical innovations that were used to process, sort and distribute grain to its rural community. The original steam mill was converted to a flour mill in 1901 and later was converted to electrical power and evolved into a feed mill in the 1930’s. The mill ceased operation in the 1980’s and was converted into a restaurant and entertainment complex. While a majority of the site and the mill have been dormant for the past 20 years, the mill has inspired photographers, muralists, and curious travelers who have been captivated by its romantic and iconic presence.
No comments:
Post a Comment